

Crime Victim Compensation Board

Twenty-Third Judicial District of Colorado

PHONE: (720) 733 - 4580 FAX: (720) 733 - 4672

EMAIL: <u>DAVICTIMCOMP@CODA23.GOV</u>

PROUDLY SERVING DOUGLAS, LINCOLN AND ELBERT COUNTIES

APPLICATION FORM

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

The Crime Victim Compensation (CVC) Program operates pursuant to C.R.S. 24-4.1-101 et. seq. The CVC Board may waive some of the following statutory requirements if good cause exists:

- o The victim sustained a mental or physical injury, death, or damage to exterior residential doors, locks, and/or windows as a result of a compensable crime.
- o The crime occurred on or after July 1, 1982.
- o The crime occurred within Douglas, Lincoln, or Elbert counties. Victims residing in the district may also be eligible for CVC if the crime occurred outside the state or country where CVC is not reasonably accessible.
- o The crime was reported to a law enforcement agency, or a forensic exam was completed by a licensed medical provider.
- o A completed application for CVC was filed with the Board.
- o The victim reasonably cooperated with law enforcement officials (law enforcement, prosecutor, etc.).
- \circ The injury to or death of the victim was not the result of the victim's own wrongdoing or substantial provocation.

GENERAL PROGRAM INFORMATION

- o There does not need to be an arrest or charges filed to be eligible for CVC.
- o Claims for CVC may not exceed the statutory limit of \$30,000.00. The Board has further adopted specific policy limits for individual loss categories.
- o Submission of a completed application form does not guarantee approval of CVC funds. The Board will review requests within 45-60 working days from the receipt of a completed application.
- o Any materials received, made, or kept by the CVC program concerning an application for CVC funds are confidential pursuant to C.R.S. 24-4.1-107.5. You have the right to be notified of any subpoena for your CVC materials.
- o Victims will be notified of all Board decisions concerning a request for CVC funds. If a request is denied, the Victim has the right to request reconsideration from the Board within 90 days from the receipt of a denial letter.
- o CVC does not compensate for damage or loss of personal property, loss of cash, damage to motor vehicles, or pain and suffering.

SECTION 1 – VICTIM INFORMATION

PLEASE COMPLETE ALL FIELDS. INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL DELAY PROCESSING.

Victim Name (First, Middle Initial 8	& Last) Da	te of Birth
Mailing Address		
City	State Zip	Code
Phone	Email	
there a language other than Engl	ish you prefer to communicate in	?□YES□NO
ves, list the language you prefer t	o communicate in:	
	for statistical purposes only to comply	
RACE		DISABILITY
□American Indian/Alaskan Native	□Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islande	r 🗆 Physical
□Asian	□White Non-Latino/Caucasian	│ │
□Black/African American	□Multiple	☐ Cognitive/TBI
☐ Hispanic/Latino	□Other:	
GENDER IDENTITY		Hearing Impaired
□Male	□Non-Binary	☐ Vision Impaired
□Female	•	
□Transgender	□Prefer not to say	
□Female □Transgender SECTION 2 – CLAIMANT IN	□Other: □Prefer not to say	
lease complete this section only if the viocapacitated. Claimant Information is the sam		leceased, or otherwise
 Claimant Name (First, Middle Initi	al, Last) Da	te of Birth

Mailing Address				
City	State	Zip Code		
Phone		Email		
Claimant's Relationship to Victin	n			
Who referred you to Crime Victim	Compensa	ation?		
□ Police Agency Victim Advocate □ District Attorney Victim Advoca □ Human Services □ Community Organization	man Services			
SECTION 3 – CRIME INFO	RMATIO	N		
Type of Crime (Check all that app	ly)			
□Assault		☐Burglary/Criminal Mischief		
□Murder/Homicide		☐ Careless Driving Resulting in Injury/Death		
□Sexual Assault – Adult		□DUI		
□Child Sexual Abuse		□ Vehicular Assault/Vehicular Homicide		
□Child Physical Abuse		□Other:		
Was this an act of Domestic Viole	nce? □Y	es □No □Unknown		
What county did the crime occur	in? □Douį	glas □Lincoln □Elbert □Other		
Who committed the crime (offend	der name):			
		e crime was reported:		
Has the offender been charged in				
Court case number (if known):				

SECTION 4 – INSURANCE INFORMATION

CVC is a payor of last resort by law. All bills must be processed through your insurance and/or other collateral source of payment. Documentation of payment or denial by insurance is required. Check all that apply.

SOURCE	YES	NO	UNK	Deductible Amount
Private Insurance				
Medicaid/CHP				
Medicare				
Group Insurance				
CO Indigent Care Program				
Worker's Compensation				
Disability				
Automobile Insurance				
Homeowner's/Renter's				
Other				
SECTION 5 — CIVIL LAW CVC must be notified of any civil acticivil action is required.				ON Documentation of any monies received from a
Are you planning to sue the off for your injuries?	ender(s)), their i	nsurand	ce, or other involved party responsible
□Yes □No				
Civil Attorney Name				Law Firm
Phone				Email

SECTION 6 – REQUEST FOR SERVICES

Please check the box next to each category you are seeking assistance with and complete all fields with the requested information. Additional eligibility requirements may apply. ☐ Mental Health Counseling Are you currently seeing a therapist related to the crime for which you are applying? □Yes □No Therapist Name Phone Email ☐ Mental Health Counseling – Secondary Victims/Family Members Please only include family members residing in the same household. Family members residing in a different household must complete a separate application. Name Relationship to Victim Date of Birth PLEASE CONTACT OUR OFFICE IF YOU WOULD LIKE ASSISTANCE FINDING A THERAPIST ☐ Medical/Dental Please submit itemized copies of your medical bills. Bills may be submitted at a later date if you have not yet received them, or you receive additional bills. A written treatment plan is required for physical therapy. Additional information may be required. ☐ Hospital/Physician/Ambulance ☐ Chiropractic/Acupuncture

☐ Physical Therapy

☐ Other: _____

☐ Medical Prescriptions

☐ Personal Medical Items	
	tems damaged or lost as a result of the crime, or the ult of the crime. The damage or loss <i>must</i> be documented in
☐ Dentures/Dental Device	☐ Prosthetic Device
☐ Eyeglasses/Contact Lenses	☐ Hearing Aids
☐ Other:	-
□Lost Wages	
	or emotional injuries resulting from the crime not covered by ent Verification Form will be sent to you to provide to your your lost wage request may be required.
□Loss of Household Support	
You may be eligible for loss of household support if with the offender at the time of the crime. <i>Roomma</i>	you are a dependent of the offender and shared a residence ates are not eligible for household support.
□ Replacement Services Loss	
	nary or necessary services the primary victim would have as a result of a compensable crime. The services, including a must not have been performed for income.
□ Residential Property Damage	
	pair or replacement. Estimates or invoices may be submitted e damage or loss <i>must</i> be documented in the police report.
	s and/or windows if your vehicle was damaged as a result of a I to be your primary residence. Please contact our office for
□Exterior Door(s)	□ Vehicle Towing/Impound Fees
□Exterior Window(s)	□ Vehicle Lock Change/Rekey
☐ Exterior Lock Change/Rekey	☐Crime Scene Cleaning
☐ Residential Safety Modifications	

You may be eligible for reimbursement of the cost of safety modifications to increase the outer security of your residence if there is an ongoing concern for your safety. Safety modifications may include security systems/cameras, motion/flood lights, and additional locking mechanisms. *Guard pets and weapons of any kind will not be considered*.

□Funeral/Burial Expe	enses	
Please submit itemized invoice	es or receipts. You may have the f	uneral home contact our office directly.
Have the funeral/burial ex	rpenses been paid?	
□Yes □No		
Name of the person(s) w	 ho paid the funeral/burial ex	xpenses if different from the Claimant
Mailing Address		
City	State	Zip Code
Phone	Email	
□Travel Expenses		
		enses for the purposes of attending the primary nding medical/mental health counseling
☐Loss of Support to I	Dependents	
	support to dependents if you were their death. Please submit docun	e wholly or partially dependent on the primary nentation of the victim's income.
□Emergency Reques	t	
made within thirty (30) days fro		ncern resulting from the crime and must be oility requirements must be met, and you must adding is <i>not</i> guaranteed.
Emergency requests for fundir	ng are limited only to the following	•
☐ Relocation (<i>BY REFER</i>)	RAL ONLY)	Residential Safety Modifications
☐ Residential Property D	amage \Box	Medically Necessary Devices

REVIEW AND SIGN

Signature of Victim or Claimant	Date
Printed Name of Victim or Claimant	
providers, mental health providers, civil attorney, verifying documentation I have submitted or to es information provided may be subject to disclosure	elease of all information from my employer, medical and/or any other creditor or agency for the purpose of tablish the validity of my claim. I understand any e under the law. I understand I have the right to revoke or exact reproduction of this signed authorization shall
service provider(s).	approved Crime Victim Compensation funds directly to my
	t to request reconsideration of the Board's decision in the n of proof is on me to show the claim is reasonable and ompensation Act (C.R.S. 24-4.1-101).
funds become available to me (i.e. from civil laws Crime Victim Compensation Board. I further agree	y the Crime Victim Compensation Program in the event uit) for the same expenses previously approved by the e to retain so much of the recovered funds as necessary to am to the extent of the funds I received from Crime Victim
Program if payment is subsequently received from compensation for my injuries if the same expense	tion may be sought from the offender for payments made
	e to reasonably cooperate with law enforcement, including on of the offender, may result in the denial of my claim.
or professional relationship with two or more Boa	request an alternative application process if my personal rd members will prohibit the Board from conducting an must make a request for an alternative application process erent Judicial District.
	am responsible for all costs related to the crime and have me Victim Compensation Board. I will notify service mpensation has been submitted.
	on contained in this application for Crime Victim st of my knowledge. I understand providing falsified enial of my claim and is punishable by law.
Please read the following statements carefully, in	itial each statement, and print and sign.

MAIL COMPLETED APPLICATIONS TO:
Office of the District Attorney

C/O Crime Victim Compensation 4000 Justice Way, STE 2525A Castle Rock, CO 80109